The 2023 annual Patriot Award dinner will take place at the Crest Hollow Country Club on MONDAY, JUNE 26th at 6 PM.

Tickets are $100 pp, $70 for students 18 & under. To purchase tickets, please send an email to Lucille Ficara at luficara@optonline.net . You will be asked to send along payment with the names of individuals attending.

If you would like to place a congratulatory ad in our annual Patriot Award journal, please contact Lynda Schachner at LSchachner@seaford911.org. This is the committee’s major fundraiser which helps maintain the SHS 9/11 Memorial, finances the Patriot Awards and scholarships presented annually to five Seaford HS graduating seniors, three Honorary Patriot awards, along with subsidizing the Seaford HS annual trip to the NYC 9/11 Memorial. The committee also hosts the annual 9/11 Candle Lighting ceremony which always takes place in front of the SHS 9/11 Memorial on September 11th (6:45 PM).


The SHS 9/11 Memorial Committee is pleased to announce the 2023 Honorary Patriot Awards will be awarded to Nick Bilotta, Elaine S. Tamsen, and Joseph M. Mottola (SHS ’81).

Since 2002, the Honorary Patriot Award has been given annually to individuals nominated by the public and selected by the Seaford 9/11 Memorial Committee in honor of the five Seaford alumni lost on September 11, 2001: Thomas Haskell (’82), Timothy Haskell (’85), John Perry (’82), Robert Sliwak (’77) and Michael Wittenstein (’85). The Honorary Patriot Award is given to an individual who is representative of the spirit and lives of our five alumni, or has made significant contributions to the Seaford schools, Seaford community, the SHS 9/11 Memorial, or is a Seaford HS graduate who has gained distinction. The Honorary Patriot Award is given for SERVICE, CHARACTER, and COMMITMENT.

Donations & Payments

As of November 2020, we are able to accept VENMO as payment for your memorial bricks, journal ads, and dinner tickets. Please send VENMO payment to SHS Memorial Fund @ SHS_911_Memorial Fund. Donations can also be accepted through VENMO.

Seaford 9/11 Memorial Candle Lighting ceremony cancelled for 9/11/2020

We find it unfortunate to inform you that the 19th annual Seaford 9/11 Memorial Candle Lighting ceremony is cancelled due to COVID-19 safety precautions. We will resume our annual Memorial Ceremony next September 11, 2021.

On September 11, 2020 we will continue to honor our five Seaford H.S. alumni and all those who lost their lives tragically on September 11, 2001. We welcome the community to visit the SHS 9/11 Memorial on September 11th anytime to spend a moment of reflection. A drop box will be available for those who wish to leave remembrances and thoughts of loved ones. The field of honor will continue to be set up to honor our heroes.

WE CONTINUE TO REMEMBER…Thomas Haskell ’82, Timmy Haskell ’85, John Perry ’82, Robert Sliwak ’77, and Michael Wittenstein ’85.

We thank you for your support,

The SHS 9/11 Memorial Committee


New 2020 Patriot Award recipients announced

It is with great pleasure that the 9/11 SHS Memorial Committee announces the recipients of the 2020 Patriot Award. The five recipients were selected from the numerous applications submitted by members of the 2020 senior class and they were awarded a scholarship and the award yesterday at graduation. The Patriot Award’s message is Service, Character, and Commitment and the five graduates embody these characteristics of our fallen alumni. We congratulate ERICA ALBERT, JESSICA KOFOD, CHRISTOPHER SURACE, LOGAN MASTERS, and MATTHEW KAROUNOS. The 2020 Honorary Patriot Award recipients are Erin King Sweeney, Donna Jebaily, and Marianne Pensa. Congratulations to all. **Unfortunately due to COVID-19, the Patriot Award dinner had to be cancelled and we were not able to honor these individuals. We will honor these individuals at the next Patriot Award dinner scheduled for Tuesday, June 29, 2021.

2020 Honorary Patriots Named

The Seaford 9/11 Memorial Committee is proud to announce the 2020 Honorary Patriots.

They are: Donna Jebaily, Marianne Pensa, and Erin King Sweeney.

These women have been chosen for their service, character, and commitment to society. We will honor them at the 18th annual Patriot Award Dinner held on Tuesday, June 30, 2020 at the Crest Hollow Country Club at 6 PM. For information regarding attending the dinner, please see additional information on this website.


The American flags will be planted in front of Seaford High School on Saturday, September 7th at 9 AM.

They will be taken down on Saturday, September 14th at 9 AM.

If you can help set up or take down the flags, please me at the high school at 9 AM, either or both days.

Thank you.

2019 Seaford H.S Graduation

Five graduating seniors were recognized for their service, character and commitment at the 2019 Seaford H.S. graduation held on Friday, June 28th. The Patriot Award was presented to Julianne Hilcken, Brian Rodriguez, Christopher Schneider, Eric Schneider, and Alexis Frintzilas.

17th Patriot Award Dinner

The 17th annual Patriot Award dinner was held on Monday, July 1, 2019 at the Crest Hollow Country Club. Community members honored for their service were Phil & Sue Nicola, Jim O’Hara, and Joe Viscio. Five Seaford High School graduating seniors were honored from their service, character, and commitment. They received the Patriot Award and a monetary scholarship. These five students were Alexis Frintzilas, Julianne Hilcken, Brian Rodriguez, Christopher Schneider, and Eric Schneider. The dinner was attended by over 250 people.

2019 Patriot Award winners
2019 Honorary Patriot Award winners