2019 Honorary Patriots selected

The Seaford 9/11 Memorial committee is pleased to announce the 2019 Honorary Patriots recipients are Jim O’Hara, Phil & Sue Nicola, and Joe Viscio. 

These individuals exemplify the character, service, and commitment of the five SHS alumni lost on September 11, 2001. There are Tommy Haskell (FDNY), Timmy Haskell, (FDNY), John Perry (NYPD), Robert Sliwak (Cantor-Fitzgerald) and Michael Wittenstein (Cantor-Fitzgerald). 

Jim, Joe, Phil & Sue will be honored at the 17th annual Patriot Award dinner on Monday, July 1st at 6 PM at the Crest Hollow Country Club.

Important Dates for 2019

Committee Meetings: Jan. 10, Feb. 7, March 7, Apr. 11, May 9, June 6, June 27, July 25, Aug. 15, Sept 5

Other important events

Jan. 25: Honorary Patriot Award nomination deadline

May 22: Patriot Award application deadline for SHS seniors

May 30: Patriot Award Selection Meeting #1

May 31: Patriot Award Journal ad deadline

June 4: Patriot Award Family Interviews

June 5: Patriot Award Final Selection Meeting

June 6: SHS 9/11 Committee Meeting

June 14: Brick order deadline

June 28: Class of 2019 Graduation at NCC 6:30 PM

July 1: Seventeenth Annual Patriot Award dinner at Crest Hollow Country Club at 6 PM

Sept. 6: Installation of bricks

Sept. 11: 18th Annual Candle Lighting Memorial service 7 PM

Callery Pear Tree

This Callery Pear Tree is the offspring of the “Survivor Tree” which survived the September 11, 2001 attack on the World Trade Center.  May it forever symbolize resiliency, renewal, hope and strength of our community and nation.

Michele’s Ride to Remember

Please meet Michele at Seaford High School on Saturday, August 11th, 2017 at 3:30 PM. She will be completing her bicycle ride from Buffalo to New York City at Seaford High School. If you would like to meet her at her prior stop and ride you bike with her to Seaford High School, she will be visiting the Towers of Freedom at John J. Burns Park in Massapequa just before heading to Seaford.

RSVP here.



2018 Patriot Award recipients named

The 9/11 SHS Memorial Committee is pleased to announce the 2018 Patriot Award recipients are:

  • Melanie Cascio;
  • Andrew Chirico;
  • Anthony Cuchel;
  • Tiffany Lin; and
  • Jillian Padavan.

These students exemplify the committee’s motto of SERVICE, CHARACTER, and COMMITMENT. We continue to honor the memory of Tommy, Timmy, John, Rob, and Michael. Honorary Patriots this year are Judy Bongiovi, John Brooks (’68), and Jim O’Donnell Jr. (’79).  

The 16th annual Patriot Award dinner will be held on Monday, June 25th at 7 PM.